It’s all in the logo

24 May

Today I walked across town with my head uncharacteristically down. I was searching for the ultimate Helsinki City coat of arms (logo) to use somewhere on this blog. I found many different examples of manhole covers on my walk.

Here you can see Helsinki’s coat of arms: a boat on the water, with crown above. This cover is for a water main. There was reflective pond close by which I presume this belonged to. I took this in the Munkkisaari district where the bulk of the larger cruise ships berth in summer time, and also the site of Helsinki Shipyard, where many cruise ships have been build in years past.

Manhole cover in the lawn?! Why not…

I walked a little further and found this cover with 125. Closer inspection reveals that it was for the 125th anniversary of the Helsinki water board in 2001.

Old manhole cover?

Some considerable time later, on Esplanadi, I came across one that looked considerably newer, although the anniversary was the 450th.

High traffic area!

It was a very pleasant day for a walk, even if my head was down for most of it. The centre of Helsinki is very easy to navigate by foot. A word of warning: many footpaths are shared with cycling paths – remember to look behind you before crossing (they don’t always ring their bells as they are passing).

Building department

15 Responses to “It’s all in the logo”

  1. El Guapo 24/05/2012 at 20:45 #

    Infrastructure ironworks are unique ot each city.
    In the US, I always get a kick out of the Topographical Survey markers I find from time to time.
    I like that the 3 different covers all follow a similar theme.

    • Kanerva 24/05/2012 at 20:54 #

      I also found a few for the cables (telephones I’m guessing at least) – they can wait for another day – I can’t give everything away on the first try 🙂

      Interesting part was that for the cable covers they were all made by different smelting works…

  2. Jennifer 25/05/2012 at 01:46 #

    so is blog #4??

    • Kanerva 25/05/2012 at 12:45 #

      Yes, this is # 4. It’s time to stop now…

      • Jennifer 26/05/2012 at 00:12 #

        😀 I thought so. You’ll be so busy with yoru different blogs there’ll be no time to actually earn a dollar… lol

      • Kanerva 26/05/2012 at 06:22 #

        🙂 Actually all the focus is now on this one… the others will get minimum attention for the short term. Enough to keep them ticking over… tick tick tick

  3. suedee 25/05/2012 at 07:35 #

    I too walk around new cities looking at the ground ready to snap these interesting pieces of ‘official’ artwork.

    • Kanerva 25/05/2012 at 12:45 #

      There are so many! Now I’m noticing when I’m riding too… that’s a bit dangerous though 😉

  4. aFrankAngle 25/05/2012 at 20:40 #

    Interesting the little signs that are out on front of people everyday that many may not notice.

    BTW – Congratulations on the new blog. So I will pose a question to be answered in a possible post. I new visitor comes to Helsinki, but only has one day. What do they see?

    • Kanerva 26/05/2012 at 06:21 #

      The only question!… yet I’ll put one back on you: what are you interests? do you want a snap shot of the city or do you want to explore something near and dear to you?

      • aFrankAngle 26/05/2012 at 13:35 #

        I actually was thinking of a topic for this site. Knowing that cruise season is upon you, thousands of visitors will be descending upon Helsinki just for one day. Some people will want a snapshot, others want museums, others history, others recreation, others uniqueness … hey hey hey … I’ve just given you many ideas! Besides, get someone to post you on sites as Cruise Critic, and then more visits. If I was the visitor, I would be a snapshot type.

      • Kanerva 28/05/2012 at 19:46 #

        You are absolutely right Frank. I’m working on the blog structure right now: theme topics for instance and snapshots of different parts of the city etc.

        I’ve been a member of Cruise Critic for a while now and have to increase my postings there also. There are a couple of very active posters and I don’t check CC often enough. Something I need to work on. Also, CC have some rules I need to double check before I start ringing my own bell! I’d hate to run amok of the rules before even getting started!

        Stay tuned for the next installment 🙂

      • aFrankAngle 28/05/2012 at 19:54 #

        I thought of several other topics for you … one day for ____ …. book lovers, jewelry shopping, adventure, local food, and bicycling.

  5. Anne-May MacPhee 27/05/2012 at 12:48 #

    Hi Heather! Funny that I “stumbled” to these covers recently as in my “handicraft group” someone used such iron to rust dye a fabric, which was used for making an textile art book about Helsinki. There are several such textile books made this spring and I’ll drag you to see them in autumn when they are on display.

    • Kanerva 28/05/2012 at 19:37 #

      You won’t need to drag me Anne-May! That sounds really interesting. Thanks for stopping by (and commenting!) 🙂

Feedback is always welcome. Go ahead, have your say!

