What does Finland mean to you?

25 Sep

To my valued followers, I’d like to explain my absence. Over summer I enrolled in a short course at the Helsinki Summer School, which in turn inspired me to continue my studies. Subsequently I’ve enrolled in studies that will assist me in my long-term goals. Short term it means that I’m a little strapped for time to write all the blogs that I’d like to. My aim is to get back to two posts per week by the end of October.

Now I’d like to ask your help with a little research project I need to run for one of our travel courses. In a nutshell: what does Finland mean to you as a destination?

Feel free to comment below. Good or bad, it doesn’t matter. I’m interested in how you see my adopted home as a destination, whether it’s for a day, a week, a month!

Please mention if you have visited Finland previously and it would be especially helpful if you could briefly note how your ‘visit experience’ rated against your expectations. I’m quite keen to hear your opinion of Finland.

In the mean time while your gather your thoughts, here are some random shots I took in and around Finland this summer.

Is it a car? No! Bicycle rack in downtown Helsinki…

Summer delights from Åland

Cinema tickets, island style!

Night of the Cats: Action at the zoo (after dark!)

Bird on a stone!

Summer flags

Åland sunset

17 Responses to “What does Finland mean to you?”

  1. Amy 26/09/2012 at 02:03 #

    It’s funny you should post this today – less than 2 hours ago, I was talking with a friend who used to work at Nokia, here in San Diego. She had said that everyone she knew from Finland was incredibly smart, worldly and unbelievably kind. I admit that I had never really thought of Finland before today, but now I think I may need to do some research!

    • Kanerva 26/09/2012 at 07:25 #

      Thanks for the comment Amy, it’s interesting to see how others see Finns and Finland. Your friend’s comments summarise quite nicely some of the Finnish characteristics I’ve come to appreciate since living here. Now, any research you do to visit or just find out more will be so much different than the research I did to live here! I’ll point you in the direction of http://www.visitfinland.com – it’s the official Finland page, and so full of information your head will be spinning (or you’ll be trying to work out how to get to Finland really quickly)! Have fun 🙂

  2. judithatwood 27/09/2012 at 02:18 #

    Finland, to me, means clean, friendly, beautiful — happy people and gorgeous faces. I would dearly love to spend some time in your lovely country..

    • Kanerva 27/09/2012 at 08:03 #

      Thank you Judith. I’m being to get a sense of a pattern here 🙂 It would be my absolute pleasure to spend some time with you and show off this wonderful country!

      • judithatwood 27/09/2012 at 15:41 #

        I am happy just knowing you are in such a wonderful place! 😎

      • Kanerva 27/09/2012 at 17:36 #

        You know, Maine sounds quite good also 🙂

  3. aFrankAngle 27/09/2012 at 15:35 #

    As you know, I just had my first visit. Yes, cruise ship stops are short … and yes, I researched ahead of my visit … but I going way back in time, I recall looking forward to the visit and not knowing what to expect (to the good, that is). BTW … and yes …. I would return. 🙂

    • Kanerva 27/09/2012 at 17:35 #

      That seems also to be a common sentiment Frank, some people are happy to go with flow and just see what pops up!

      You would return! Does that translate to ‘you will return’ – if that is the case, we need to make sure you have a good and interesting programme for you.

      Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

      • aFrankAngle 27/09/2012 at 21:15 #

        Good question. Who knows if I will ever get to that part of the world again … only time will tell. However, to me, would means I won’t discount it … then again, odds are I will return to Italy first. Just trying to differentiate the words in your excellent question!

      • Kanerva 28/09/2012 at 14:24 #

        My English sometimes feels a little rusty. I managed to offend someone this week by saying ‘If you… ‘ rather than ‘As you… ‘ – he took my if as a doubt on his numerous talents!

        I’ve never been to Italy, and until recently it’s been one destination off the radar. I’ve since met two people who have convinced me that I should at least consider Italy. In the meantime, there is a heap of Finland I haven’t properly seen!

        Have a great weekend!

      • aFrankAngle 28/09/2012 at 14:29 #

        No offense taken … Italy is one long museum with great sites, food, and people. (Some areas are crowded during peak seasons).

        Interestingly, you mention still much of Finland for you to see …. and yes, I say the something here in the US … Nonetheless, the world offers a lot!

      • Kanerva 28/09/2012 at 14:35 #

        There are even parts of Australia I haven’t seen! Yes, a lot of travel still to planned 🙂

      • aFrankAngle 28/09/2012 at 14:38 #

        If only funds allowed me to travel more and more!

      • Kanerva 28/09/2012 at 14:45 #

        I have that problem compounded by a lack of time at this point in life! El Guapo was on the right track with last weeks poll 🙂

      • aFrankAngle 28/09/2012 at 14:47 #

        Oh yes … lack of time and money do get in the way of life. 😉

  4. El Guapo 17/10/2012 at 16:02 #

    Now that I think about it, I know next to nothing about Finland.
    Though in your posts (on your various blogs), you’ve always given me a sense of excitement about the place…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project work, your opinion of Finland! | A Taswegian in Finland - 25/09/2012

    […] up! One project requires some on-line research, so I’ve posted a little question over at Heather’s Helsinki – What does Finland mean to […]

Feedback is always welcome. Go ahead, have your say!

