A Word A Week Challenge: Orange (Helsinki)

11 May

When I first read the challenge from A Word in Your Ear I thought I would post under my other, living in Finland blog. After all  orange and Helsinki is not exactly the first combination that springs to mind. I actually thought there is no possible way I can find orange. Then I was in the kitchen opening a packet of rice with my trusty kitchen scissors… the ones with bright orange handles! The next day I had to catch the bright orange metro to the market place with its, yes you guessed it…  bright orange tents. So I have spent the last week, camera or phone in hand capturing orange Helsinki. Or as they would say in Finnish: oranssi Helsinki.*

 

Now that I’ve seen my gallery in all it’s glory, some of my oranges are almost red or yellow 🙂 Have fun finding your own orange Helsinki!

If you want to see other posts dedicated to orange head over to A word in your ear and check out the other posts.

* Orange the colour and orange the fruit have two different words in Finnish. Appelsiini is the fruit, oranssi is the colour.

8 Responses to “A Word A Week Challenge: Orange (Helsinki)”

  1. skinnywench 11/05/2013 at 09:54 #

    Reblogged this on A Word in Your Ear and commented:
    orange as seen throught the eyes of Heather from Helsinki – IN RESPONSE TO THE A WORD A WEEK CHALLENGE – ORANGE

    • Kanerva 11/05/2013 at 12:21 #

      Thank you! If memory serves me correctly, this is the first time I’ve been reblogged 🙂

  2. vannillarock 11/05/2013 at 09:59 #

    Went to Ivalo in February to try chasing the northern lights but no luck 😪thanks for sharing you orange adventure.

    • Kanerva 11/05/2013 at 12:34 #

      I know your pain! There was a (rare) sighting of the lights here in Helsinki back in March … and I heard all about them… the next day 😦 grrrr. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  3. aliciasunday 11/05/2013 at 11:24 #

    Great combination of orange pictures as a montage.

    • Kanerva 11/05/2013 at 12:41 #

      Thank you! It turned out much better than expected.

  4. Rusha Sams 11/05/2013 at 13:51 #

    Wow! You really found a lot of orange! This is a great collection! http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

    • Kanerva 13/05/2013 at 05:47 #

      I know! It would be interesting to do the same with another colour. I’m thinking purple or turquoise might be a little difficult… although I thought that about the orange and look what I found.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Feedback is always welcome. Go ahead, have your say!

